He Is Risen!

Happy Easter Sunday! What better way to celebrate than by beautiful hymns of praise!

Here is my favorite for blasting! My children LOVE singing along with the Mormon Tabernacle Choir on this one. I’ll bet Handel would have loved to have seen this.


My next pick is probably most famously known from a Civilization video game: Baba Yetu. BUT did you know this beautiful song is actually the Lord’s Prayer in Swahili? Here’s my current favorite rendition, recently released by Alex Boyé, BYU Men’s Chorus & Philharmonic.


Ooh, I want to listen to this over and over again. In case you do too, here are two other versions of Baba Yetu to keep you occupied: this very similar one by BYU Men’s Chorus minus Alex, and this a capella one by Peter Hollens and Malukah.

Lastly, Nearer, My God, to Thee. This is my all-time favorite hymn, and THIS is my all-time favorite rendition. It’s a capella by BYU Vocal Point and (again!) the BYU Men’s Chorus. (Can you tell I love the Men’s Chorus? I even married one of their ex-basses.)


And because I couldn’t leave it there, how about this version by cellist Steven Sharp Nelson of the Piano Guys?

Have a lovely, wonderful Easter!

Leave a Reply

